Lake County

County Site
GOP Site Not Found
County Map Link
Population Estimate11,784
Local Units (#)15
Precinct Delegate Slots (#)15
Federal Congressional DistrictsMI-02
State Senatorial Districts33, 34
State Representative Districts100, 101

How many precinct delegate slots are VACANT in Lake County?

13 of 15

Become a Precinct Delegate: 1-2-3

Step 1: Find Your Precinct

Check your voter registration card to identify which municipality (city or township), ward (# - only in some large cities), and precinct (#) you reside in.

You can also search the Secretary of State website for this information.

Step 2: Complete the Affidavit of Identity

Find the affidavit at the link below.  Complete all fields on the affidavit, but hold signature.  Sign the affidavit in the presence of a notary.  A notary can be found at most local banks.  Make a copy of the affidavit.  File the original copy with the county clerk: submit via mail or in-person.

Filing deadline: May 3, 2022

IMPORTANT!  Reduce the chances of having a contestant in your precinct, by submitting the affidavit just prior to the filing deadline.  Also, don't forget to ask the clerk if any other affidavits have been filed by someone in your precinct.

Step 3: Campaign

When there are more precinct delegate contestants than allotted seats in your precinct, put together a simple letter asking your neighbors for their vote in the upcoming primary election.

IMPORTANT!  It is ILLEGAL for anyone other than the postal service to place letters in mailboxes!  Hand deliver letters to your neighbors or tuck them into front doors.  Distribute campaign literature approximately one week prior to the election, so your name is fresh in the voters' minds.  Take this opportunity to promote other candidates on the ballot as well!

GOP Precinct Delegates

Total Records Found: 15, showing 10 per page
First NameLast NameLocalePrecinctSlot
Vacant Chase Township 1 1
Vacant Cherry Valley Township 2 1
Vacant Dover Township 3 1
Vacant Eden Township 4 1
Joan Runnels Elk Township 5 1
Vacant Ellsworth Township 6 1
Ervin Habada Lake Township 7 1
Vacant Newkirk Township 8 1
Vacant Peacock Township 10 1
Vacant Pinora Township 11 1

GOP County Executive Committee

Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
TitleFirst NameLast NameLocale
Chair Joan Runnels Elk Township

County Government

4-year term (elected same year as U.S. Presidential election): County Clerk, Treasurer, Sheriff, Prosecutor, Road Commissioner, Surveyor
2-year term: District Commissioners
Commissioner District Map
Total Records Found: 13, showing 10 per page
TitleFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
Clerk Patti Pacola 231-745-2725 Clerk R
Treasurer Kellie Allen 231-745-4622 Treasurer R
Sheriff Rich Martin 231-745-2711 Sheriff R
Prosecuting Attorney Craig Cooper 231-745-2775 Prosecuting Attorney R
Road Commissioner Rick Haslock R
Surveyor Patrick Johnson R
Commissioner D1 Robert Sanders 231-233-7897 D
Commissioner D2 Howard Lodholtz 231-250-7770 R
Commissioner D3 Betty Dermyer 231-349-1928 D
Commissioner D4 Dawn Martin 269-760-1446 R

State Representatives for County

2-year term.  Limited to 3 terms.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
MI Rep DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneParty
100 Scott VanSingel 517-373-7317 R

State Senators for County

4-year term.  Limited to 2 terms.  State senators are elected in the same year as the Michigan Governor – even-numbered years, opposite of the U.S. Presidential election.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
MI Senate DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
35 Curt VanderWall 517-373-1725 Contact R

US Representatives for County

2-year term.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
MI-02 Bill Huizenga 616-570-0917 Contact R

US Senators

6-year term.  One third of U.S. Senators are up for re-election every 2 years.
Total Records Found: 2, showing 10 per page
First NameLast NamePhoneSitePartyRe-Election Year
Gary Peters 313-226-6020 Contact D 2026
Debbie Stabenow 616-975-0052 Contact D 2024