Emmet County

County Site
County GOP Site
County Map Link
Population Estimate33,985
Local Units (#)18
Precinct Delegate Slots (#)107
Federal Congressional DistrictsMI-01
State Senatorial Districts37
State Representative Districts107

How many precinct delegate slots are VACANT in Emmet County?

84 of 107

Become a Precinct Delegate: 1-2-3

Step 1: Find Your Precinct

Check your voter registration card to identify which municipality (city or township), ward (# - only in some large cities), and precinct (#) you reside in.

You can also search the Secretary of State website for this information.

Step 2: Complete the Affidavit of Identity

Find the affidavit at the link below.  Complete all fields on the affidavit, but hold signature.  Sign the affidavit in the presence of a notary.  A notary can be found at most local banks.  Make a copy of the affidavit.  File the original copy with the county clerk: submit via mail or in-person.

Filing deadline: May 3, 2022

IMPORTANT!  Reduce the chances of having a contestant in your precinct, by submitting the affidavit just prior to the filing deadline.  Also, don't forget to ask the clerk if any other affidavits have been filed by someone in your precinct.

Step 3: Campaign

When there are more precinct delegate contestants than allotted seats in your precinct, put together a simple letter asking your neighbors for their vote in the upcoming primary election.

IMPORTANT!  It is ILLEGAL for anyone other than the postal service to place letters in mailboxes!  Hand deliver letters to your neighbors or tuck them into front doors.  Distribute campaign literature approximately one week prior to the election, so your name is fresh in the voters' minds.  Take this opportunity to promote other candidates on the ballot as well!

GOP Precinct Delegates

Total Records Found: 107, showing 10 per page
First NameLast NameLocaleWardPrecinctSlot
Brandon Kargol Bear Creek Township 1 1
Jerome Weedman Bear Creek Township 1 2
Karen Weedman Bear Creek Township 1 3
Vacant Bear Creek Township 1 4
Vacant Bear Creek Township 1 5
Vacant Bear Creek Township 1 6
Vacant Bear Creek Township 1 7
Vacant Bear Creek Township 1 8
Vacant Bear Creek Township 1 9
Nick Collias Bear Creek Township 2 1

GOP County Executive Committee

Total Records Found: 14, showing 10 per page
TitleFirst NameLast NameLocale
Chair Geri Szymanski Littlefield Township
Vice Chair Louis Zako West Traverse Township
Secretary Carolyn Whittle West Traverse Township
Treasurer Fredric Simons Harbor Springs
Johnathon Klonowski Harbor Springs
Doug Byron Little Traverse Township
Janet Szymanski Littlefield Township
Rusty Chatfield McKinley Township
Robert Igielski Petoskey
Stephen Graham West Traverse Township

County Government

4-year term (elected same year as U.S. Presidential election): County Clerk, Treasurer, Sheriff, Prosecutor, Drain Commissioner, Register of Deeds
2-year term: District Commissioners
Commissioner District Map
Total Records Found: 13, showing 10 per page
TitleFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
Clerk Suzanne Kanine 231-348-1744 Clerk R
Treasurer Mary Mitchell 231-348-1715 Treasurer R
Sheriff Peter Wallin 231-439-8900 Sheriff R
Prosecuting Attorney James Linderman 231-348-1725 Prosecuting Attorney R
Drain Commissioner Arden Bawkey R
Register of Deeds Karen Cosens 231-348-1761 Register of Deeds R
Commissioner D1 Toni Drier 231-420-6832 R
Commissioner D2 Neil Ahrens 231-881-6607 R
Commissioner D3 Charles MacInnis 231-526-1557 R
Commissioner D4 Mike Wargel 231-838-6564 R

State Representatives for County

2-year term.  Limited to 3 terms.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
MI Rep DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneParty
107 John Damoose 517-373-2629 R

State Senators for County

4-year term.  Limited to 2 terms.  State senators are elected in the same year as the Michigan Governor – even-numbered years, opposite of the U.S. Presidential election.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
MI Senate DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
37 Wayne Schmidt 517-373-2413 Contact R

US Representatives for County

2-year term.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
MI-01 Jack Bergman 202-225-4735 Contact R

US Senators

6-year term.  One third of U.S. Senators are up for re-election every 2 years.
Total Records Found: 2, showing 10 per page
First NameLast NamePhoneSitePartyRe-Election Year
Gary Peters 313-226-6020 Contact D 2026
Debbie Stabenow 616-975-0052 Contact D 2024