Cheboygan County

County Site
County GOP Site
County Map Link
Population Estimate24,592
Local Units (#)20
Precinct Delegate Slots (#)58
Federal Congressional DistrictsMI-01
State Senatorial Districts37
State Representative Districts106, 107

How many precinct delegate slots are VACANT in Cheboygan County?

48 of 58

Become a Precinct Delegate: 1-2-3

Step 1: Find Your Precinct

Check your voter registration card to identify which municipality (city or township), ward (# - only in some large cities), and precinct (#) you reside in.

You can also search the Secretary of State website for this information.

Step 2: Complete the Affidavit of Identity

Find the affidavit at the link below.  Complete all fields on the affidavit, but hold signature.  Sign the affidavit in the presence of a notary.  A notary can be found at most local banks.  Make a copy of the affidavit.  File the original copy with the county clerk: submit via mail or in-person.

Filing deadline: May 3, 2022

IMPORTANT!  Reduce the chances of having a contestant in your precinct, by submitting the affidavit just prior to the filing deadline.  Also, don't forget to ask the clerk if any other affidavits have been filed by someone in your precinct.

Step 3: Campaign

When there are more precinct delegate contestants than allotted seats in your precinct, put together a simple letter asking your neighbors for their vote in the upcoming primary election.

IMPORTANT!  It is ILLEGAL for anyone other than the postal service to place letters in mailboxes!  Hand deliver letters to your neighbors or tuck them into front doors.  Distribute campaign literature approximately one week prior to the election, so your name is fresh in the voters' minds.  Take this opportunity to promote other candidates on the ballot as well!

GOP Precinct Delegates

Total Records Found: 58, showing 10 per page
First NameLast NameLocalePrecinctSlot
Vacant Aloha Township 1 1
Vacant Aloha Township 1 2
Vacant Beaugrand Township 1 1
Vacant Beaugrand Township 1 2
Ross Bell Benton Township 1 1
Charles Leady Benton Township 1 2
Richard Mayo Benton Township 1 3
Vacant Benton Township 1 4
Vacant Benton Township 1 5
Vacant Benton Township 1 6

GOP County Executive Committee

Total Records Found: 18, showing 10 per page
TitleFirst NameLast NameLocale
Chair William Hartwig Munro Township
Vice Chair Charles Leady Benton Township
Secretary Thomas North Burt Township
Treasurer Kathy Buchweitz
Ross Bell Benton Township
Cynthia Curtis Cheboygan
Michelle Durst
Roger Kopernik
Wes LeMarble
Richard Mayo Benton Township

County Government

4-year term (elected same year as U.S. Presidential election): County Clerk, Treasurer, Sheriff, Prosecutor, Drain Commissioner, Road Commissioner, Surveyor
2-year term: District Commissioners
Commissioner District Map
Total Records Found: 14, showing 10 per page
TitleFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
Clerk Karen Brewster 231-627-8808 Clerk R
Treasurer Buffy Jo Weldon 231-627-8821 Treasurer R
Sheriff Dale Clarmont 231-627-3155 Sheriff R
Prosecuting Attorney Melissa Goodrich 231-627-8450 Prosecuting Attorney R
Drain Commissioner Cam Cavitt 231-420-2118 R
Road Commissioner David Brown 231-238-7775 Road Commissioner R
Surveyor James Granger R
Commissioner D1 Mary Ellen Tryban 231-420-0303 R
Commissioner D2 Richard Sangster 231-290-1751 R
Commissioner D3 Michael Newman 231-445-1886 R

State Representatives for County

2-year term.  Limited to 3 terms.
Total Records Found: 2, showing 10 per page
MI Rep DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneParty
106 Sue Allor 517-373-0833 R
107 John Damoose 517-373-2629 R

State Senators for County

4-year term.  Limited to 2 terms.  State senators are elected in the same year as the Michigan Governor – even-numbered years, opposite of the U.S. Presidential election.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
MI Senate DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
37 Wayne Schmidt 517-373-2413 Contact R

US Representatives for County

2-year term.
Total Records Found: 1, showing 10 per page
DistrictFirst NameLast NamePhoneSiteParty
MI-01 Jack Bergman 202-225-4735 Contact R

US Senators

6-year term.  One third of U.S. Senators are up for re-election every 2 years.
Total Records Found: 2, showing 10 per page
First NameLast NamePhoneSitePartyRe-Election Year
Gary Peters 313-226-6020 Contact D 2026
Debbie Stabenow 616-975-0052 Contact D 2024